3 Day Refresh- Final Review and Results

Well… the moment of truth has come!  I spent 3 day cleansing my body in hopes of decreasing cravings and increasing my energy all while detoxing.  I liked that the 3 day refresh was gentle and I could eat real food in the form of fruit, vegetables and healthy fats (hummus, almond butter, avocado,coconut oil) and it was gentle on my system.  I should mention that I already eat a pretty well balanced diet with lots of fiber so that was not an issue for me.  I also have almost completely cut caffeine out of my diet except for my pre-work out and occasionally coffee in my shakeology.  So, I had no headaches during the 3 days.  Click on the days below to and the link will take you to my blog post for that day.

Day 1: I questioned a lot whether this was worth it.  I wasn’t looking to lose a bunch of weight or inches but rather I really wanted to decrease my never ending cravings.  I felt satisfied all day with some cravings but it was the beginning and I was very motivated.  The recipes in the book are all tasty and some I will keep as staples in my diet.  I’ll probably put up a couple of the recipes on here since I use my recipes when I plan meals for ideas.

Day 2: This was the hardest day and I STRUGGLED from 12-5pm.  If you read my other post on the 3 day refresh-day 2 then you know I cheated a bit with peanut butter but overall it wasn’t a horrible cheat and it wasn’t with my normal cheat/cravings.  So, I consider that a win.  I was exhausted all day and again questioning WHY I was starving myself. I was seriously hating the program and wanted to quit but I bought it for a reason and motivated myself by saying it is only 3 days.  If you’re disgused by poop talk continue on to day 3.   I had HORRIBLE gas this day, especially in the afternoon/evening but my poop was regular and I wasn’t going anymore than I normally do.  Again, another benefit of a gentle cleanse!

Day 3:  I woke up feeling great, energy back and guess what…. my cravings had basically diminished.  By the afternoon I wasn’t wanting to raid the pantry and binge eat everything.  I was satisfied with my portioned controlled food.  This was the day that I realized how truly amazing this 3 day cleanse is.  I was satisfied, not starving and I overcame a HUGE obstacle that I didn’t know I possessed.  I was able to say NO to my cravings and finally take control.  And that my friends lead us to my results…

3 day refresh results:

The pictures don’t do the results justice but I will share.

3 day fix results- front

Weight– Down 3.2 pounds

Inches- Down 4 inches… including 1 inch off of my waist!

I forgot to take a side picture so the side picture happened after I worked out and showered
I forgot to take a side picture so the side picture happened after I worked out and showered

Other Results

First off, I’m EXTREMELY happy with these results!  Not only did I do that in 3 days but what you can’t see in the pictures is the amazing energy I have.  I look forward to my meals and my body craves healthy food.  I waited an extra day to write my review because I wanted to see how I felt the day after when I reintroduced food to my diet and started working out again.  Monday morning I woke up to push plan on my Insanity Max 30 Cardio Challenge DVD expecting to have no energy to complete it.  BUT I powered through and only took 1 break… where as I was taking 3-6 breaks per workout.  WHAT?  How did that happen?  I ate normally that whole day after with little to no cravings, even in the afternoon.  I had no caffeine.. I didn’t need it.  I’m experimenting something with coconut oil in the afternoon as well so that may have something to do with it but I’ll let you know.  I had already planned my meals for Monday and was prepared to continue with my success, so that was helpful.  Monday was easy… I had energy, felt lean and in control.

So, I’m writing this Tuesday afternoon.  I got up this morning to get my workout in feeling great and ready to rock another workout but not expecting anything like yesterday.  But to my surprise…. I did even better!  My workout was Insanity Max 30 Tabata Strength… which is NO easy workout.  Lots of jumping and push ups, it’s probably the hardest workout I’ve ever done. Seriously, I have no upper body strength,  I hate push ups. Previously I took a break at 6:38 into the DVD doing knee diamond push ups.  Today… I lasted until almost 20 minutes.. I mean talk about beastmode!  In Insanity Max 30 you keep track of the first time you need a break so you can try and push yourself further the next time, that’s why I know when I was taking breaks.  I didn’t even have to modify!  WHAT?  I’m impressed.  I also track my calories burned and monitor my heart rate during my workouts (I’m obsessed what can I say) and track them everyday when I’m doing a program.  I like to push myself and make sure I’m getting my HR up.  I use a Garmin Viviofit as an activity tracker but it’s also a heart rate monitor that you wear a chest strap for.  Here are some screen shot of my calories burned this week compared to last week:

3 day refresh workout results

I wasn’t trying to do this to prove a point, it just happened.  I burned almost 100 calories more in 2 days then I did doing the same workouts last week.  So if the increase in energy, dropped weight & inches, decrease in cravings and appetite as well as overall feeling of control in my life didn’t sell me on this program…. that visual does!!   Oh, and I had some capris I bought YEARS ago that I’ve been wanted to fit in to by the end of this summer.  Guess what… I zipped those right up today no problem!

Will I do this again and when?

100% yes! It would be perfect after a vacation to get back on track quickly or before a big event when I wanted to lean out a bit.  I would probably also use this for a plateau.  I’d recommend this to anyone who wants to gain some energy by detoxing the bad chemicals in every day food out of your diet.   I really enjoyed this in the end… once I got through that 2nd day.  At the very least it was a mental battle I overcame and taught me that if I laser focus on nutrition for 3 days I can be back to “normal”.  The structure and schedule were nice as well as the cleansing aspect.

Will the weight come back?

I’m really not sure.  I weighed in Tuesday, so 2 days after and my weight was the same.  I’ll weigh in again on Friday and report back if it came back.  I’m sure if you keep a healthy lifestyle it will stay off, which I’m planning on doing.  A little over 5 pounds to my goal weight!

Whew, that was a long post.

Leave a Reply

