How to pit a cherry like a boss

How to pit cherries like a boss without a cherry picker
How to pit cherries like a boss without a cherry picker

So, we went cherry picking this past weekend and picked 6 1/2 pounds of sweet cherries.  That doesn’t even count the many we ate right off the trees in the fields… a benefit of picking your own.  I haven’t decided what I want to do with these sweet treats yet but I know that it involves pitting them all which takes FOREVER and I don’t have a cherry picker.  I saw somewhere that you can use a straw but thought it would break so I decided to use my hard plastic straw from my water cup and it worked like a dream!  I didn’t mention this in the video but wash your fruit before doing this and wash your hands!  Also, don’t wear white… this is a messy job.

IMG_20150615_121932521_HDR
The final product! Took me 30 minutes to pit 6 1/2 pounds of sweet cherries

 

You can see that you don’t waste a lot of the cherry which is also amazing!  Remember don’t wear white when you do this because it’s messy!! Now… what should I do with these cherries?!!?

IMG_20150615_122013844

Leave a Reply

